Griffins bounce back to crush N. Colorado in Griffin Invitational

SALT LAKE CITY — One day after losing to the No. 1-ranked team in the nation, the Westminster College men’s lacrosse team bounced back with a 21-2 win over No. 20 Northern Colorado in the final game of the 2012 Griffin Invitational on Sunday.

The first game of the day saw No. 1 St. Thomas (Minn.) clinch the tournament title with a 12-8 win over No. 10 Concordia (Calif.). Peter Carbonneau and Joe Palermo had three goals apiece to lead the Tommies to the win.

The third-ranked Griffins controlled the game all afternoon as they improve to 11-2 overall on the season. Northern Colorado drops to 2-6 with the loss.

The final home game of the year saw Westminster jump out to a quick 3-0 lead with 7:08 to play in the first quarter. After a goal from UNC, the Griffins responded with four straight goals to build a 7-2 advantage early in the second quarter.  UNC would score the next goal in the game only to watch Westminster close them out with 14 straight goals to finish the year 5-1 at Dumke Field.

Westminster outshot the Bears 48-21 while putting 31 of those attempts on cage. The Griffins picked up 48 ground balls and won 17-of-27 faceoffs. They were successful on 31-of-34 clear chances and had six goals in 10 opportunities with a man advantage.

Jake Arthur and Collin Madsen scored four goals apiece to lead all scorers. Madsen also added a team-best three assists to finish with seven points. Arthur finished with six points and had a team-best 10 shots with nine on target. Braden Daly led the team with six ground balls and Marshall Serzen added five GBs to go with 13 faceoff wins in 21 attempts. Chris Burckle picked up the win while making six saves.

Tyler Vogel and Jonathan Krohn scored the goals for UNC. Spencer Hogan had four ground balls and 10 faceoff wins. Brian Dean allowed 11 goals while stopping seven shots in the cage.

The Griffins will close out the regular season with four straight games away from home. The first comes on April 13 in Durango, Colo. against Fort Lewis College.


Comments are closed.