BYU’s Tua Laei to start tonights Junior World Rugby Trophy championship game

MURRAY — South Jordan’s Tua Laei is in the starting lineup for the Unites States U-20 All-Americans team in today’s championship against Japan at 6 p.m.

Laei, who played full back for BYU as a freshman last year, missed the Americans’ last match, nursing a few nagging injuries.

USA head coach Scott Lawrence has named the 22-man roster that will suit up in the red, white, and blue against a very technical Japanese side tomorrow.

The personnel Lawrence has starting in the final reflects the combinations he has been evaluating since late May, notably the seemingly favored halfback pairing of Nick Boyer and Will Magie will run out for the USA.

The match up of Magie and his Japanese counterpart (and captain) Jumpei Ogura will be fantastic to watch. Both are very intellectual and have been lethal kicking out of hand so far in the tournament.

The midfield battle will be excellent as well given that both teams have played lock down defense but have found gaps against the opposition. Of course, they haven’t faced one another yet.  Tanner Barnes and Laei are the centers for the USA and will have to have a high work rate to shut down the Japanese midfield.

Both forward packs are scrappy and tenacious, but the Japanese scrum has struggled slightly against Tonga and Chile but were able to tailor a game plan that minimized the damage a weak set piece can have on a match.

The match will be webcast live on and  Follow the game live on Twitter (@usaeaglesrugby).

USA Rugby Junior All-Americans vs. Japan (JWRT Final) | June 30, 2012

15 Madison Hughes (Dartmouth)

14 Kingsley McGowan (St. Mary’s College of California)

13 Tanner Barnes (Central Washington)

12 Tua Laei (BYU)

11 Noah Tarrant (Oceanside Hurricanes)

10 Will Magie (Leeds University)

9 Nick Boyer (Cal)

1 Travis Whitlock (Back Bay)

2 Cameron Falcon (Louisiana State)

3 Henry Hall (Auckland University)

4 Nick Barrett (Minnesota State)

5 Pierce Dargan (Trinity College – Dublin)

6 Glen Thommes (Delaware)

7 Alex Goff (Arkansas State)

8 Tom O’Hara (Santa Clara)


16 Angus MacLellan (Davenport)

17 Mike Te’o (Belmont Shore)

18 Casper Huizenga (Kutztown)

19 Teli Veamatahau (Metropolis)

20 Sione Letoi (Tempe)

21 Pasefika Iosia (Belmont Shore)

22 Alex Taefu (Tempe)

Comments are closed.