Intermountain Cricket League season preview: Clubs open play awash in optimism

SALT LAKE CITY and LAYTON — After three weeks of spring training, the cricket season has finally arrived to the Wasatch Front.

After several years will just one or two major hardball clubs in Utah, the Intermountain Cricket League now has five full-time members.

After bad weather and standings dispute disrupted the ICL’s first season, there are reasons to be optimistic about 2013.

For the first time, the teams trained together for three weeks. Also, a balanced schedule has been produced; the region’s biggest tournament moved to Labor Day Weekend; and a  tennis ball tournament has been tentatively scheduled for July. The league also added a new member in the Beehive Cricket Club.

The Beehives open season against the Vincent Hawks at 10:30 a.m. on Sunday at 11th Avenue Park in Salt Lake City. Meanwhile, the Layton Bashers host the Salt Lake County Cricket Union, starting at 10:30 a.m. at Woodward Park. Both matches will be 25 overs.

Here is a team-by-team breakdown (in alphabetical order):

Beehive Cricket Club
Nickname: Beehives
Colors: Purple and black
Geographic area: Central and western Salt Lake Valley
Captain: Muhammad Tahir Ayub Rana
Home field: 4135 S. 1300 East
Year formed: 2012
Key players lost: none (new club)
Key additions: Adil Pattel, Ch.Tahir, Tariq Nawaz Khan, Farasat saboor, Muhammad Fahad Rana, Ali Irfan, Sameed Irfan, Hassan Irfan, Muhammad Shahid Rana, Muhammad Tahir Rana, Jaan Ahmed Kasana, Tariq Mehmood Khan, Malik Hameed, Waseem and Naeem Gill.
Players to watch: Adil, Ch.Tahir, Farasat, Fahad, Tariq and Tahir.

Layton Cricket Club
Nickname: Bashers
Colors: White and blue
Geographic area: Davis County
Captain: We will have four different captains throughout the season
Home field: Woodward Park
Year formed: 2003
Key players lost: Tejas, Varun
Key additions: Arun, Umesh, John, Dyakar, Praneet, RaviKant, Sandeep
Player to watch: John, Kapil, Maulish, Umesh, Dyakar
Team’s goal for the season: Win the tournament!

Salt Lake County Cricket Union
Nickname: Saber Cats
Colors: White
Geographic area: Central and western Salt Lake Valley
Captain: Nasir Khan
Home field: 11th Ave Park, Salt Lake City
Year formed: 1986
Key players lost: Abhishak Bhatiya, Bharaht Kandati and Achuth
Key additions: Swadhin Saurabh, Veer Suarbhi
Player to watch: Ishaq Afridi, Waqas Afridi, Swadhin Saurabh, Atif Ali and Shazad Ahmed
Team’s goal for the season: Win the tournament. As a parent team, our goal is to continue to expand the league, and hopefully to teach cricket to local youth.

Utah Lions Cricket
Nickname: Lions
Colors: Green and gold
Geographical area: Utah County/south Salt Lake Valley
Home field: 11th Avenue Park
Year formed: 2010
Captain: Omar Alam
Vice Captain: Harris Zia
Key players lost: Zaki Murtaza
Key additions: Ali Shehzad, Usman Shehzad
Players to watch: Hamza Jamshed, Umar Javed, Raza Hassan and Utsab Carkeyy
Out of state players: Omer Malik, Ahsan Javed, Hasan Zaidi and Asad Zia
Team’s goal for the season: To be able to sweep the league, groom the youngsters and recruit new players.

Vincent Hawks
Captain: Krishna Kamojjala (KC)
Geographical area: University of Utah/east Salt Lake Valley
Home field: 11th Avenue Park
Year formed: 2011
Key players lost: Snehasish Roy, Naveen Punati, Harsha Jampala
Key additions: Ashish Thakur, Akshay Moharir, Varun Vasudevan, Niladri Sinha
Player to watch: Everyone
Team’s goal for the season: Win maximum games to reach season finals

Comments are closed.